15 Authors

A challenge came in from one of my former students on who were 15 of my favorite authors that I had to write down in 15 minutes or less. Easy. But I had to leave a few off…

Here they are (not necessarily in order except for Walt Whitman) including my favorite poets.

Walt Whitman – Leaves of Grass is the real Bible
Gabriel Garcia Marquez – 100 Years of Solitude
Tim O’Brien – The Things They Carried and everything else.
William Faulkner – almost everything
Mark Helprin – Winter’s Tale, Memoir from Antproof Case, short fiction
Steinbeck – East of Eden
Mark Doty – Poetry/Non Fiction
Richard Hugo – Poetry – What Thou Lovest Well….
Rick Bass – Short Fiction extraordinaire
Wallace Stegner – Angle of Repose, The Big Rock Candy Mountain
Annie Proulx – Wyoming Stories
Willa Cather – My Antonia, Death Comes for the Archbishop
John Casey – Spartina, The Half Life of Happiness, An American Romance
Mark Strand – Poetry/The Continuous Life
Jayne Anne Phillips – Machine Dreams/Black Tickets/Lark & Termite

If someone asked me what was something they didn’t know about me is that I carry a copy of Leaves of Grass in my car at all times. It’s sorta like Christians carrying around their bible (only different).

2 thoughts on “15 Authors

  1. I did my 15 authors in 15 seconds, and wow, after reading your list did I leave off a bunch of my favorites. So many writers, so little time.

    BTW, just received Palisades, and will let you know what I think. I have a couple other books ahead of it, but look forward to reading it. Love the intro paragraph!

Leave a Reply

