AIRSTREAMING

Ten years ago this month, I graduated from Bennington College with an MFA in creative writing and literature. My thesis, which contained the first third of AIRSTREAMING, was submitted, along with a short story, MY KID IN FOOTLIGHTS, which my thesis instructor, the writer, Elizabeth Cox, had asked for. Prior to graduation, Ms. Cox sent a congratulatory letter, which complemented the quality of AIRSTREAMING. I was very excited. Now, ten years later, I’m about to put AIRSTREAMING out into the world.

Why ten years?  Work. Life. Challenges. All of these got in my way of finishing the book. But it has been an extraordinary journey, and quite possibly, I couldn’t have finished AIRSTREAMING the way I wanted it to be without those ten years of experience. In the fall of 2010, after years of starts and stops on the manuscript, I took three months to finish it, and then I put it away before going back to it for a final polish. In the meantime, I’d met my editor, Amberly Finarelli, who went through AIRSTREAMING with a critical eye. Another few months of rewriting ensued.

Now, it’s time for the work to be seen. Four strong characters, an Airstream trailer, and Kansas City combine to take the reader on a journey that is uniquely American. With themes of loss, love, redemption and self-identity, AIRSTREAMING is a touching story for everyone.

AIRSTREAMING is coming in February.

One thought on “AIRSTREAMING

Leave a Reply

