The 100th Post

Wow. 100 postings. When I first started this blog, I didn’t think I’d keep it up given work and all the other things going on in my life, and my very nature of letting things fester, but here we are at 100 postings! I guess it’s a barometer of all that has happened, and the things that have inspired me since October 1, 2010.

At the time of the creation of Word Incident, my life was a mess. I won’t go into details, but trust me, it wasn’t fun. Now, a little over a year and a half later, EVERYTHING has changed for the better (see picture above).

What I’ve learned through social media is that connecting with people, though you may never meet, is exciting stuff. Just in the past three months, I’ve been connecting with wonderful people in the Airstream community as I’ve reached out, and they’ve reached out to connect around my novel. It’s been absolutely wonderful.

I’ve also had the chance to connect with people all over the world who’ve seen my blog and responded to a poem, an article, or my thoughts on Bruce Springsteen (thought I wouldn’t put him in here, did you : ) ).  It’s an amazing tool, this blogging stuff. I’ve managed to stay apolitical or share my thoughts on religion, which Facebook has its abundant share of, not from me, but from a host of other people, but rather, I’ve tried to maintain this as a place of art, music, film, and of course, literary, both in the writing I’ve liked and the writing I’ve done. In October 2010, very few people knew I wrote and now everyone knows. It’s a daily part of my existence, whether writing down sentences or reading great fiction, and it was time to let the cat out of the bag.

As I did on the very first post, I encourage fellow writers to contact me so I can put something up about your work as well. Coming up on June 1, 2012, I expect you’ll hear more about my writing life, more about films, and certainly more about Bruce Springsteen. But as I travel more with my partner, John, I’m sure I’ll be incorporating that into this blog as well.

So stay tuned! Great times are just up the road. And to all you ‘streamers out there. We hope to be joining you soon!

Tom

Leave a Reply

