Dave Matthews: Mercy

Just downloaded the song Mercy by Dave Matthews. The best song he’s put out in years, in my opinion. I’m looking forward to the entire new cd produced by Steve Lillywhite. It brought to mind my first experience with Dave Matthews Band music. I was traveling through the Canadian Rockies and bought their CD CRASH in Vancouver, BC, and could not stop listening to it from Jasper to Calgary. I loved the syncopated rhythms, the music’s clarity, the clarinet, the guitars, violin, everything.

And now, listening to the new single, Mercy, is taking me back to that trip, which was a bit of a fever dream as I was very ill after doing a show in BC. I remember the mountains, ice and clouds while spinning Proudest Monkey. It was an extraordinary trip, and remains a distinct memory. I’m hoping the rest of their new CD will be just as good as their initial single.

The picture above was taken in the Colorado Rockies this time last year. I love mountains and I think they’ll figure heavily in my next novel.

Leave a Reply

